Tuesday, November 26, 2013

How I stopped watching HIMYM

There is truly nothing as heartbreaking as watching a show for so long, and realizing one day, with your laptop burning hot against your laps- this was a horrible mistake. 

The saddest part of my epiphany is this didn't happen last night while watching yet another dissapointing episode of How I met your mother..it was on season 5 of this show. Season 5. So I had ample time to get out before it was too late, but I was too loyal and now I am being punished for it.

Surprisingly, for me,this season of HIMYM has been refreshingly bearable. its been stupid as usual; but who am I to deny a 30min (give or take) distraction from my less than bearable school life. Even with the snail paced countdown to the wedding,  the tiring slapstick humor with  interspersed appearances from the  biggest anti-climax of  TV history-the mother; I have been pretty entertained (I think its pretty obvious at this point, that my standards for this show are non-existent)

 So after years of  watching EVERY SINGLE EPISODE, good or not, yesterday happened and it was what broke the camel's back

The episode is basically Marshall on the bus to Farhampton with his son, who needs a story with rhymes to fall asleep, cute right? NOT. The whole episode is in rhymes, this isn't creative genius, it is revolutionary stupidity and annoying at best. The first story is called Mosby at the Bat and  Ted is the main character in the sketch, as usual he is on a date with some woman, blah blah (even thinking about it is painful). We are OVER Ted's whiny date life, stop shoving it down out throats. I yell.

As I am yelling this to my computer screen, I  have a great realization, I didn't have to deal with this is. But being the forgiving butterfly I am, I  move the cursor to 20mins into the episode, and it still has Marshall on the bus telling a lame ass story, this time with Barney as the character of the bed time story.  Really, really, this is the whole 'forsaken episode.

With an angry hiss, I closed the page.

In summary, I think I am done with this show. I don't care if its the last season , I don't care if its the last lap. I don't care for the new mother, or for her meeting Ted, I just frankly don't care. Some say it takes strength to go on even when its hard, I say it takes even more strength (and wisdom) to know when to call it quits.

Love
SMJ

No comments:

Post a Comment